Young Architects 18 (Im)Permanence

Front cover image

The Architectural League of New York (author); Mimi Hoang (foreword); Anne Rieselbach (introduction)

Buy now In stock

Andrea Monfried Editions
Territory: USA & Canada
Size: 5 in x 7 in
Pages: 176
Illustrations: 185 color, 140 b&w

RRP $24.95

  • Documents an important lecture and exhibition series, which has introduced creative young architects to a national stage for more than three decades
  • Shows the breadth of contemporary practices with projects in various typologies

The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers is an annual competition, a series of lectures, an exhibition, and a publication, all organised by the Architectural League of New York and its Young Architects and Designers Committee. The 2016 competition theme, (im)permanence, asked entrants to consider the form and meaning of impermanence or permanence in their work. Projects by six winners respond to current aspects of society, economy, and policy, or invent systems of order that acknowledge the relationship of architecture to time.

2016 winners:
Neeraj Bhatia, The Open Workshop, San Francisco, CA
Yves de Fontenay and Hubert Pelletier, Pelletier de Fontenay, Montreal, Canada
Aaron Forrest and Yasmin Vobis, Ultramoderne, Providence, RI
Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, DESIGN EARTH, Cambridge, MA and Ann Arbor, MI
Juan Alfonso Garduño Jardón, G3 Arquitectos, Querétaro, Mexico
Mete Sonmez and Neyran Turan, NEMESTUDIO, San Francisco, CA

The Architectural League of New York, founded in 1881, nurtures excellence in architecture, design, and urbanism, and stimulates thinking and debate about the critical design and building issues of our time. As a vital, independent forum for architecture and its allied disciplines, the League helps create a more beautiful, vibrant, innovative, and sustainable future.

Mimi Hoang is a cofounder of nARCHITECTS and an adjunct assistant professor at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at Columbia University. She received a Master of Architecture from Harvard University and a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from M.I.T. Hoang has taught at Yale University, Harvard University, and UC Berkeley.

Anne Rieselbach, program director of the Architectural League, has directed the Architectural League Prize since 1987. She organizes many of the League's lecture series, competitions, and exhibitions, and she was the editor of the recent League publication 30 Years of Emerging Voices: Idea, Form, Resonance.