Sukita: Eternity – Limited Edition –  More Information

Light on the Riviera

Light on the Riviera

Photography of the Côte d’Azur

By (author) Sophie Wright

£50.00

Publishing 9th May 2022
Register interest

    Privacy Policy

    Log in to add this to your wishlist.
    • How sleepy fishing villages became hotbeds of culture: the Côte d’Azur, literally the blue coast, as a gathering place for artists, from its beginnings to the present day
    • In the tradition of Riviera Cocktail and Stars & Cars, a magnificent new book of photographs, vintage and charming
    • Exhibitions to accompany the book are in the planning stage
    Full Description

    The Côte d'Azur has always captured the imagination of artists. Many of them arrived on the sun-drenched coast in the early 20th century, having left Paris to enjoy this beautiful region at a time when it was not yet a famed tourist destination. And there they stayed. Legendary for its special light, the French Riviera also spurred the development of art photography to a certain degree, attracting intellectuals and bon vivants, along with those who wanted to be in close proximity to this artistic world. The great influx of painters, photographers, and fashion designers created a rich legacy throughout several decades. This legacy will be narrated chronologically by decade in the book, starting with the beginnings of photography at the turn of the century, and continuing with the 1920s with the fashion of Jacques Henri Lartigue, the Surrealists up to the end of the war, the Golden Fifties of paparazzi photography, the portraits of artists, and photojournalism.

    Text in English, German and French.

    About the Author

    Genevieve Janvrin is a photography expert with 20 years of experience in the art market and a Bachelor of Arts degree from University College London. She has a large network of collectors, patrons, and colleagues within the art world. For the past five years, she has been Head of Europe for the Department of Photographs at Phillips Auction House. She works with all the major collectors of this medium in Europe and America. 

    Genevieve began her career in 2001 at the prestigious Michael Hoppen Gallery in London. There she learned about and worked with the estates of Edward Quinn, Jacques Henri Lartigue, Man Ray, Andre Villers, and Picasso. She later joined Phillips de Pury auction house in 2007, where she held the inaugural London sale for photographs.

    After running the London department for two years, Genevieve relocated to Australia, where she worked for Rex Irwin Fine Art in Sydney. After returning to London in 2012, Genevieve worked at Magnum Photos before returning to Phillips Auction House. During this time, Genevieve brought to market the esteemed collections of French film producer, Georges Bermann, in 2016, leading Impressionist and Modern Art expert, Michel Strauss, in May 2018, and North Face and ESPRIT founder Susie Tomkins Buell in 2019.

    Specifications
    Publisher
    teNeues Verlag GmbH
    ISBN
    9783961713950
    Publish date
    9th May 2022
    Binding
    Hardback
    Territory
    World excluding Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, Netherlands
    Size
    340 mm x 275 mm
    Pages
    256 Pages
    Recently Viewed

    Please log-in or create an account to see your recent items.